Uncategorized

Immigration rhymes with discrimination

Discriminating someone based on their race, religion, sex or sexual orientation is mainly unacceptable today. Yes, there are still cases, but they are mostly isolated and usually in conflict with the law. But if you look back in time at certain points in history, not only was discriminating against other human beings acceptable, wide spread and perfectly legal — it was considered “the way that things are”.

We would be fools to think that there isn’t much discrimination left in the modern culture. I’m sure it’s still here. It’s just that we consider it “the way that things are”.

My definition of discrimination is simple: Denying rights to human beings due solely to the properties they obtained involuntarily.

I offer you one example from today’s world that fits this definition, but isn’t generally considered discrimination: immigration laws. Most citizens of developed nations consider immigration laws a necessary measure to protect their economic well being. I admit it’s hard even for me not to admit that it’s just “the way that things are”.

But just like I wonder how in hell could have people ever considered fair that someone couldn’t sit at the front of the bus because of the color of the skin they received at birth, I am 100% certain that, one day, my child or my child’s child will ask me how in hell has it ever made sense to us that someone shouldn’t be able to choose where to live because they were born in a certain place.

Standard

Leave a comment